Meta-Search is a federated search engine that allows you to simultaneously search multiple databases within AUS Library's collection and combine the results into one list. Users can cross search databases within one subject area or across multiple subject areas, from one search interface.
To search for a topic in more than one subject area, use Meta-Search’s initial Search by Subject page.
For example, to search for “arranged marriage” (please enclose a phrase in quotation marks), you will likely get the most relevant results from databases in both the Academic - General, and Social Sciences subject areas.
By checking the box beside both the Academic - General, and Social Sciences subject headings, your term will be simultaneously searched in all the databases listed for these subjects.
Alternatively, if you check the ‘Select All’ box, the term will be searched in all subject areas listed.
Alternatively, you can click on the subject heading (e.g., Social Sciences) for a list of all resources in this subject area included in Meta-Search. Then check the boxes of all the databases you choose to search. Type in search term and click on Search.
Meta-Search Basics
• Some AUS databases are not compatible with Meta-Search and are therefore not included. For a complete list of AUS databases, see the Databases & Indexes Listed by Subject.
• Some features available within a specific database are not available through the Meta-Search interface. It can be helpful to note the databases resulting in the best information for you via Meta-Search and then to search these databases individually, from their vendor interfaces.
• You can search each database from its vendor interface by clicking on the database title within Meta-Search subject or database listing. For in-depth research, you may get better results by choosing a database and searching it using its own interface.
• Search results may be very large and imprecise if you use common terms in keyword search or if you select an unlimited number of databases to search. Limiting your search to the title field, and to 4 or 5 databases at a time, or to one subject area often results in a more focused retrieval than searching many databases at once.
Clustering
Meta-Search groups your search results by topic or subject category. This grouping, called clustering, includes results by topics narrower than or related to your search. For example, a search on “arranged marriage” retrieves the clustered results on the right:
Clustering can help to narrow your search or identify new ideas to refine your search.
Search Tips
Use quotation marks to search a phrase (e.g. "arranged marriage ").
Click on "Revise Search" to change your search or add additional search terms without losing databases or subject areas previously chosen.
Retrieve the full text of an article by clicking on the button on the Meta-Search results page, if it is contained in a journal within the AUS Library's collection.
More Meta-Search Help
Click here for Meta-Search help from Serials Solutions.
Need more help? Email reference@aus.edu
-or- ask a librarian at the Research Help Desk: 06-515-2277