AUS Library logo
  ask a librarian Ask a Librarian  | contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Search - About Research Pro

About Research Pro

Research Pro is a federated search engine that allows you to simultaneously search multiple databases within AUS Library's collection and combine the results into one list. Users can cross search databases within one subject area or across multiple subject areas, from one search interface.

Off campus, Research Pro requires you to login using your MyLibraryRecord userid (your AUS ID).

Try Research Pro now using the search box below, or go to the Research Pro interface.

Search multiple databases simultaneously:

Advanced Search

Ways to Search Using Research Pro

To search for a topic in more than one subject area, select the categories using the Search by Category section.

For example, to search for “arranged marriage” (please enclose a phrase in quotation marks), you will likely get the most relevant results from databases in both the Academic - General, and Social Sciences subject areas.

By checking the box beside both the Academic - General, and Social Sciences categories, your term will be simultaneously searched in all the databases listed for these subjects.

Alternatively, you can select individual databases from the lists below.

To retrieve the full text of an article, click on the article title in the Research Pro results page. Please note that not all articles are available in full text.

  research pro

Research Pro Basics

• Some AUS databases are not compatible with Research Pro and are therefore not included. For a complete list of AUS databases, see the Databases & Indexes Listed by Subject.

• Some features available within a specific database are not available through the Research Pro interface. It can be helpful to note the databases resulting in the best information for you via Research Pro and then to search these databases individually, from their vendor interfaces.

• Search results may be very large and imprecise if you use common terms in keyword search or if you select an unlimited number of databases to search. Limiting your search to the title field, and to 4 or 5 databases at a time, or to one subject area often results in a more focused retrieval than searching many databases at once.

Need more help? Email reference@aus.edu
-or- ask a librarian at the Research Help Desk: 06-515-2277

About Us
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2010 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu