AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Accounting

Accounting Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Accounting. To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Reference Resources

Accounting Trends & Techniques
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF HF5681 .B2 A35 2004   

Accounting Reference Desktop
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF HF5657 .B7195 2002

Accountants' handbook (2 vols.)
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF HF5621 .A22 1999

Dictionary of Accounting Terms
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF HF5621 .S54 2000     

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting 
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF HF5621 .B54 1998

International Financial Reporting Standards : A Practical Guide
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF HF5611 .G74 2006    

Finding Books and Other Materials in the AUS Library

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Accounting, try the following call numbers:

HF Commerce
HF 5001-6351 Business
HF 5601-5689 Accounting
HG Finance

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of literature the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with literature information go to:

Business: http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Business

You may also use Journal Finder on the library website (http://lt4tz7xl8k.search.serialssolutions.com/). From the drop down menu under “Browse electronic and print journals by subject” select Business & Economics, Commerce - Accounting.

Top Database Choices

ABI Inform – Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.

Accounting & Tax – Comprehensive coverage of accounting and tax topics appearing in key industry publications and newspapers.

Other Databases

Business Source Premier (EbscoHost) – Designed specifically for business schools and libraries, contains 2,804 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, and international business.

Ebrary – Ebrary provides users with simultaneous, multi-user access to a growing collection of more than 23,000 full-text, digital books, reports, and other authoritative content from leading publishers. The user must first download the Ebrary reader, but this is simple and takes only moments.

Getting additional help with your research

Reference librarians at AUS are happy to help you with your research.  For specific search strategy assistance in Accounting please contact

Kathleen Botter
Library Liaison for the School of Business and Management 
Tel. 06-515-2270
kbotter@aus.edu

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu