AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Architecture

Architecture Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Architecture. To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Reference Resources

Illustrated dictionary of architecture
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF NA31 .B83 2002

Dictionary of architecture & construction
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF NA31 .H32 2006

The Penguin dictionary of architecture and landscape architecture
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF NA31 .F55 1999

Dictionary of Islamic Architecture
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF NA380.P43 1996

Glossary of art, architecture & design since 1945
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF N34 .W34 1992

Encyclopaedia of world architecture: from the earliest to the present times
Reference Collection – 2nd Floor – REF NA200 .F47 1998 (3-vol. set)

Sir Banister Fletcher's a history of architecture
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF NA200 .F63 1996

Encyclopedia of 20th century architecture
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF NA680 .E495 2004 (3-vol. set)

Encyclopedia of vernacular architecture of the world
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF NA208 .E53 1997 (3-vol. set)

2000 Architects
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF NA50 .A16 2006 (2-vol. set)

Dictionary of art
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF N31 .D5 1996 (34-vol. set)

Finding Books and Other Materials in the AUS Library

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Architecture, try the following call numbers:

NA1-9428 Architecture
NA1-60 Architecture - General
NA190-1555.5 Architecture - History
NA2695-2793 Architectural drawing and design
NA9000-9428 Aesthetics of cities. City planning and beautifying
HT165.5-169.9 City planning

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of Architecture the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with architecture information go to:

http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Architecture

You may also use Journal Finder on the library website (http://lt4tz7xl8k.search.serialssolutions.com/). From the drop down menu under “Browse electronic and print journals by subject” select Art, Architecture & Applied Arts.

Key Architecture Periodicals

A few key titles available in print include:

Architectural Record
Periodical Collection – 2nd Floor – NA1 .A6

Architectural Review
Periodical Collection – 2nd Floor – NA1 .A69

Domus
Periodical Collection – 2nd Floor – N4 .D6

El Croquis
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – NA5 .C7

Top Database Choices

Art Full Text – is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Contrary to the name not all results are in full-text.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals – offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.

JSTOR – provides electronic access to the back-files of core scholarly journals from 42 academic disciplines including Architecture and Architectural History

Other Databases

Academic Research Library (ProQuest) – Search the full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects.

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) – This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.

Websites

Archinform http://eng.archinform.net – “The largest online-database about worldwide architects and buildings from past to present. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database.”

Archiseek http://www.archiseek.com – Directory containing architecture links, including sites about current and past architects, organizations, awards and competitions, and publications.

Architecture.com http://architecture.com – Web portal, 'all about architecture', maintained by the Royal Institute of British Architects.

Cyburbia http://www.cyburbia.org – “Established in 1994, Cyburbia is an urban planning portal and social/community site. Includes a busy message board, image gallery, planning and urbanism-related blog feeds, a wiki, and a directory of related web sites.

Getty Art and Architecture Thesaurus http://www.getty.edu/vow/AATSearchPage.jsp – Consists of terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.

The Great Buildings Collection http://greatbuildings.com – “Gateway to architecture around the world and across history documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, with 3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.” Allows you to search by building, architect and location.

Getting additional help with your research

The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help with your research. For specific search strategy assistance in Architecture, please contact:

Paula Deakin
Liaison Librarian for the School of Architecture and Design
Tel: 06 515 2262
pdeakin@aus.edu

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu