AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Business and Management

Business and Management Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources in the field of Business Management.  To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Reference Resources

The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of international management
Reference Collection - 1st Floor - HD30.15 .B456 1997

Encyclopedia of management
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – HD30.15 .E49 2000

The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of strategic management
Reference Collection – 1st Floor - HD30.28 .B59 1997

The Portable MBA desk reference : an essential business companion
Reference Collection – 1st Floor - HD38.15 .P67 1998

The handbook of project-based management
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – HD69 .P75 T85 1999

A dictionary of business and management
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – HF1001 .C63 2006

Regional encyclopedia of business and management
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – HF1001 .R44 2000 (4-vol. set)

The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of operations management
Reference Collection – 1st Floor - TS155 .B525 1997

Finding Books and Other Materials

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books on Management, try the following call numbers:

HD Industries. Land use. Labor
HE Transportation and communications
HF Commerce
HG Finance
HJ Public finance
KF Business law
TS Manufactures

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of Management the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with Management information go to:

http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Business

You may also use Journal Finder on the library website (http://lt4tz7xl8k.search.serialssolutions.com/). From the drop down menu under “Browse electronic and print journals by subject” select Business & Economics.

Top Database Choices

ABI Inform – Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.

Business Source Premier (EbscoHost) – Provides the full text for more than 2,300 journals back to 1965, and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Ebrary – Provides users with access to a growing collection of more than 23,000 full-text, digital books, reports, and other authoritative content from leading publishers.

Emerald Fulltext – Searchable full text articles from over 100 Emerald journals dating back to 1989. Subjects covered include Management, Human Resource Management, and Marketing.

Other Databases

JSTOR – Provides electronic access to the back-files of almost 200 core scholarly journals from 19 academic disciplines including 70+ business titles with coverage dating back to 1886.

LexisNexis Academic – Full text information on international news, legal and company information, and countries & markets.

Websites

Academy of Management  http://www.aomonline.org

American Management Association  http://www.amanet.org

AME Info  http://ameinfo.com – Middle East business and financial news

Dubai Chamber of Commerce and Industry  http://www.dcci.ae

GlobalEdge (Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University)  http://globaledge.msu.edu – Knowledge web-portal that offers global resources, country insights, news & views. Academy Section provides international business focused resources that cater to the needs of teachers, researchers and graduate students

Getting help with your research

The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help with your research.  For specific search strategy assistance in Management, please contact:

Kathleen Botter
Liaison Librarian for the School of Business and Management
Tel: 06 515 2270
kbotter@aus.edu

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu