AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Chemical Engineering.  To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Reference Resources

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics      
Reference Collection - 1st Floor - QD65 .C72  2005

Perry's chemical engineers' handbook 
Reference Collection - 1st Floor - TP151 .P45 1997

Rules of thumb for chemical engineers : a manual of quick, accurate solutions to everyday process engineering problems        
Reference Collection - 1st Floor - TP151 .R85 1998

Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology 
Reference Collection - 1st Floor - TP9 .K54 2004  v.14

The Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals   
Reference Collection - 1st Floor - RS51 .M4 1996  2001 

Select General Collection Books

Handbook of chemical engineering calculations      
General Collection - 2nd Floor - TP149 .H285 2004

Select Electronic Books

McGraw-Hill dictionary of engineering. [e-book]
(http://alberta.aus.edu/search)

Finding Books and Other Materials

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Chemical Engineering, try the following call numbers:

TP 149-184 
Chemical Engineering
TP 248 
Chemical Process Control
QA 371
Chemical Engineering -- Mathematics

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of engineering the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with engineering information go to:

http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Engineering

Top Database Choices

Compendex via Engineering Village 2 – Compendex® is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with 7.5 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1969.

Science Direct – The world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database supplemented by relevant bibliographic databases to expand literature searches further and a growing program of online reference works. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science.

Other Databases

ACM Digital Library – The ACM Digital Library holds a vast collection of citations and full text articles from ACM journals and magazines. The subscription also includes the Digital Library Master Special Interest Group (SIG) Package which comprises of all ACM SIG newsletters in print and online. All conference proceedings are also available in full text.

Journal Citation Reports – The Journal Citation Reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations.

Proquest Science Journals – Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.

Safari Tech Books Online – an electronic reference library for information technology, desktop applications, software, and programming. Approximately 140 top titles are currently available from the following publishers: O’Reilly, Adobe, Cisco, Microsoft, Peach Pit and Que. Note: Limit of 2 concurrent users

Science Citation Index Expanded – The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines—that's 2,100 more journals than the print and CD-ROM versions of the SCI. The Science Citation Index Expanded includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.

Websites

EEVL: Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library  http://www.eevl.ac.uk/

WWW Virtual Library - Chemical Engineering http://www.che.ufl.edu/WWW-CHE/index.html

Getting help with your research

The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help you with your research.  For specific search strategy assistance in Chemical Engineering please contact:

Daphne Flanagan
Associate University Librarian and Liaison Librarian for Chemical Engineering 
Tel: 06-515-2255
dflanagan@aus.edu

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu