|
Home > Research
Help - Subject Guides > Design
Design Subject Guide
Getting Started
When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Design. To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).
Reference Resources
The digital imaging dictionary
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF TR267 .F35 1996
The encyclopedia of illustration techniques
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF NC960 .S547 1997
Contemporary designers
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF NK1390 .C655 1997
The Thames & Hudson dictionary of graphic design and designers
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF NC997 .L58 2003
A dictionary of modern design
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF NK1165 .W66 200
Select General Collection Books
A history of graphic design
General Collection – 2nd Floor – Z246 .M43 1998
Finding Books and Other Materials in the AUS Library
The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books on Design, try the following call numbers:
| NC1-1940 |
Drawing. Design. Illustration |
| NC845-915 |
Graphic art materials |
| NC950-996 |
Illustration |
| NC997-1003 |
Commercial art. Advertising art |
| NE1-3002 |
Print media |
| TK5105 |
Web sites (design and development) |
| Z116-265.5 |
Printing (including typography) |
Finding Journal Articles
In the field of Design the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online. To find all databases with Design information go to:
http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Architecture
You may also use Journal Finder on the library website (http://lt4tz7xl8k.search.serialssolutions.com/). From the drop down menu under “Browse electronic and print journals by subject” select Art, Architecture & Applied Arts.
Key Design Periodicals
A few key titles available in print include:
Applied Arts
Periodical Collection – 2nd Floor – NC997.A1 A66
Communication Arts
Periodical Collection – 2nd Floor – NC997 .A1 C2
Print
Periodical Collection – 2nd Floor – Z119 .P8985
Step inside design
Periodical Collection – 2nd Floor – NC845 .S73
Wired
Periodical Collection – 2nd Floor – TK5105.5 .W57
Top Database Choices
Art Full Text – is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Contrary to the name not all results are in full-text.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals – Also includes coverage of journal articles published worldwide on Design.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) – is a growing collection documenting works of art from around the world. Images, text and multimedia represent a broad range of works of art from the collections of prominent museums, highlighting the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
JSTOR – provides electronic access to the back-files of core scholarly journals from 42 academic disciplines including Art and Art History. Included is Journal of Design History for the years 1988-1999.
Other Databases
Academic Research Library (ProQuest) – Search the full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects.
Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) –
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.
Websites
Arts on the Web: A Directory http://www.zeroland.co.nz/design.html –
Web Directory of Design and Designers
Communication Arts http://www.commarts.com –
From the publishers of Communication Arts magazine, resources for the design professional, including design news, profiles and portfolios of designers, job listings and links to relevant Web sites
Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum http://www.cooperhewitt.org/ –
Website of this Smithsonian museum located in New York City including National Design Award winners from 2000 to present
Dia Center for the Arts -- Artist's Web Projects http://www.diacenter.org –
Links to a selection of Web art projects commissioned by the Dia Center
The FontSite: Digital Typography and Design http://www.fontsite.com –
Feature articles, style guides, production artist survival guides, rules of typography, free fonts and more
Walker Art Center -- Beyond Interface http://www.walkerart.org/gallery9/beyondinterface –
Selected Web art projects sponsored by the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, USA
Getting additional help with your research
The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help with your research. For specific search strategy assistance in Architecture, please contact:
Paula Deakin
Liaison Librarian for the School of Architecture and Design
Tel: 06 515 2262
pdeakin@aus.edu
|