AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Economics

Economics Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Economics. To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Reference Resources

Dictionary of economics
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – HB61 .S466 1995

Business and economics research directory
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – HB74.5 .B865

World development indicators
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – HC59 .15 .W656 2006

Business Monitor International guide to the world's major emerging economies
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – HC59.7 .B867 2000 (2-vol. set)

Business statistics of the United States
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – HC101 .A13122 2006

The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of managerial economics
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – HD30.22 .B55 1997

Finding Books and Other Materials in the AUS Library

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Economics, try the following call numbers:

HA Statistics
HB Economic theory.  Demography
HC Economic history and conditions
HD Industries.  Land use.  Labor
HF Commerce
HG Finance
HJ Public finance

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of Economics the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with Economics information go to:

http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Economics

You may also use Journal Finder on the library website (http://lt4tz7xl8k.search.serialssolutions.com/). From the drop down menu under “Browse electronic and print journals by subject” select Business & Economics.

Top Database Choices

ABI Inform – Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.

Business Source Premier (EbscoHost) – Provides the full text for more than 2,300 journals back to 1965, and searchable cited references back as far as 1998.

EconLit – Database of the American Economic Association contains more than 735,000 records from 1969-present and covers virtually every area related to economics.

EIU Country Report – Covering Bahrain, Egypt, India, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey, United Arab Emirates and Yemen. Quarterly main report with monthly updates provides in-depth analysis of political and economic trends. Access back issues to 1996.

EIU Country Profile – Covering Bahrain, Egypt, India, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey, United Arab Emirates and Yemen. Annual profile provides background and historical context of current economic and political events. Access back issues to 1996.

NBER Working Papers – Access to the initial reports and findings of scientific papers via the National Bureau of Economic Research. Approximately 500 NBER Working Papers are published each year with a focus on business, government, and business media around the world.

Penn World Tables Center for International Comparisons, University of Pennsylvania. Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 168 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2000.

SIPRI Databases – Contains: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends,
SIPRI data on military expenditure, Database on national export control systems, and
Educational Module on Chemical and Biological Weapons (CBW) Non-proliferation.

UN Statistics Database – Focusing on the collection, processing and dissemination of statistical information, this UN sponsored site provides access to several statistical databases.

World Bank - WDI Online – WDI Online provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 207 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2002, where data are available.

Other Databases

Academic Research Library – Search the full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) – This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.

Ebrary – Provides users with access to a growing collection of more than 23,000 full-text, digital books, reports, and other authoritative content from leading publishers.

Emerald Fulltext – Searchable full text articles from over 100 Emerald journals dating back to 1989. Subjects covered include Management, Human Resource Management, and Marketing.

JSTOR – Provides electronic access to the back-files of almost 200 core scholarly journals from 19 academic disciplines including 70+ business titles with coverage dating back to 1886.

LexisNexis Academic – Full text information on international news, legal and company information, and countries & markets.

Websites

Bloomberg Financial Services http://www.bloomberg.com – Current business and economics news

CIA World Factbook  https://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook – Country overviews including basic economics data and sources

Eurostat  http://epp.curostat.ec.europa.eu (Statistical Office of the European Communities) – Access to the latest and most complete statistical information available on the European Union, the EU Member States, the euro-zone and other countries

NationMaster.com  http://www.nationmaster.com – Large international compilation of data from key government and agency sources such as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. This central data source provides an easy way to graphically compare nations. Major data areas include: Crime, Disasters, Economy, Education, Energy, Environment, Health, Immigration, Industry, Labor, Language, Lifestyle, Media, Military, Mortality, Religion, Sports, Taxation and Transportation.

Resources for Economists on the Internet  http://rfe.org – Extensive guide of economics-related information on the web. Sponsored by the American Economics Association

Getting additional help with your research

The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help with your research.  For specific search strategy assistance in Economics, please contact:

Kathleen Botter
Liaison Librarian for the School of Business and Management
Tel: 06 515 2270
kbotter@aus.edu

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu