AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Education

Education Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Education.  To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Education (8 vol. set)
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF LB15 .E47 2003             

The Greenwood Dictionary of Education
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF LB15 .G68 2003   

World Education Encyclopedia : A Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide (3 vol. set)
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF LB15 .W87 2002    

International Encyclopedia of Teaching and Teacher Education
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF LB1025.3 .I58 1995   

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF BF176 .T43 1991 

An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Educational Terms: English-Arabic
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF LB15 .N27 2003 

International Encyclopedia of Developmental and Instructional Psychology
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF BF712.7 .I58 1996    

Select General Collection Books

Qualitative Research in Education: A User's Guide
General Collection – 2nd  Floor – LB1028 .L436 2006    

The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Education
General Collection – 2nd Floor – LB14.7 .B57 2003    

Improving Teacher Education Practices through Self-Study
General Collection – 2nd Floor –  LB1707 .I52 2002 

Issues in Education: View from the Other Side of the Room
General Collection – 2nd Floor – LA217.2 .C65 2001   

Finding Books and Other Materials in the AUS Library

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Social Science, try the following call numbers:

LA History of Education
LB1025-3095 Theory and Practice of Education
LC8 - 5160 Special Aspects of Education

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of literature the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with literature information go to:

Language and Literature: http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Language

You may also use Journal Finder on the library website (http://lt4tz7xl8k.search.serialssolutions.com/). From the drop down menu under “Browse electronic and print journals by subject” select Social Sciences, Education.

Top Database Choices

ERIC – The world's largest source of education information, with more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. Updated monthly with the latest citations available and provides access to ERIC Document citations.

Proquest Education Journals – Contains more than 550 titles on education including primary, secondary, and university-level topics with nearly 300 in full-text. Includes the indexing and abstracts from H.W. Wilson'shighly regarded Education Abstracts, plus many additional titles.

JSTOR – Provides electronic access to the back-files of almost 200 core scholarly journals from 19 academic disciplines including the humanities, social sciences, and 48 scholarly education journals.

Other Databases

Academic Research Library – Search the full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Ebrary – Ebrary provides users with simultaneous, multi-user access to a growing collection of more than 23,000 full-text, digital books, reports, and other authoritative content from leading publishers. The user must first download the Ebrary reader, but this is simple and takes only moments.

Getting additional help with your research

Reference librarians at AUS are happy to help you with your research.  For specific search strategy assistance in Education please contact

Kathy Ray
Library Liaison for Education  
Tel: 06-515-2266
kray@aus.edu

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu