|
Home > Research
Help - Subject Guides > Environmental Sciences
Environmental Sciences Subject Guide
Getting Started
When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Environmental Sciences. To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).
Reference Resources
McGraw-Hill dictionary of environmental science [e-book]
(http://alberta.aus.edu/search)
Encyclopedia of environmetrics (4 volumes)
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – GE45.S73 E53 2002
Encyclopedia of ocean sciences
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – GC9 .E57 2001
Life on earth : an encyclopedia of biodiversity, ecology, and evolution (2 volumes)
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – QH541.15.B56 L54 2002
Finding Books and Other Materials in the AUS Library
The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Environmental Sciences, try the following call numbers:
| GE |
Environmental Sciences |
| QH101-198 |
Ecology |
| QH540-549.5 |
| TD169-191 |
Environmental Protection |
Finding Journal Articles
In the field of environmental sciences the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online. To access databases with Environmental Sciences information go to:
http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Science
You may also use Journal Finder on the library website (http://lt4tz7xl8k.search.serialssolutions.com/). From the drop down menu under “Browse electronic and print journals by subject” select Earth & Environmental Sciences.
Top Database Choices
Science Direct – The world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database supplemented by relevant bibliographic databases to expand literature searches further and a growing program of online reference works. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science.
Science Citation Index Expanded – The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines—that's 2,100 more journals than the print and CD-ROM versions of the SCI. The Science Citation Index Expanded includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
AccessScience – This online encyclopedia gives access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News® headlines, biographies, and more.
Proquest Science Journals – Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.
Other Databases
Academic Research Library (Proquest) – Search the full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) –
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.
Journal Citation Reports – The Journal Citation Reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations.
Websites
State of the Environment Abu Dhabi – This site covers the Emirate of Abu Dhabi and aims at supporting sustainable development by providing and policy relevant knowledge on the state of environment, its outlook and an action plan in the Emirate for policy makers and other stakeholders including public.
Environmental Protection Agency – This site of the US Environmental Protection Agency highlights environmental science, research, education and assessment efforts.
SOSIG: Environmental Sciences and Issues – The Social Science Information Gateway provides annotated listings of selected, high quality Internet sources for researchers and practitioners.
Getting additional help with your research
The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help you with your research. For specific search strategy assistance in Environmental Sciences please contact:
Thomas Hodge
Liaison Librarian for Environmental Sciences
06-515-2260
thodge@aus.edu
|