AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > History

History Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of History.  To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Selected Reference Collection materials:

Archive Editions, e.g. :
Political diaries of the Persian Gulf.
Reference Collection - 1st Floor: REF DS327.3  P64 1990
Ruling Families of Arabia
Reference Collection – 1st Floor: REF DS244.512 R85 1991

Encyclopaedia of the history of science, technology, and medicine in non-western cultures.
Reference Collection - 1st Floor: REF Q124.8 .E53 1997      

Encyclopedia of the Palestinians.
Reference Collection - 1st Floor: REF DS113.6 .E53 2005

The Encyclopedia of world history : ancient, medieval, and modern, chronologically arranged.
Reference Collection - 1st Floor: REF D21 .E578 2001

Gazetteer of the Persian Gulf, 'Oman and Central Arabia.
Reference Collection – 1st Floor: REF DS326 L67 1984

The Oxford companion to the history of modern science.
Reference Collection - 1st Floor: REF Q125 .O86 2003

Women in world history : a biographical encyclopedia.
Reference Collection - 1st Floor: REF HQ1115 .W6 1999

Selected General Collection materials:

Muslim Spain and Portugal : a political history of al-Andalus.
General Collection - 2nd Floor: DP102 .K46 1996

The complete idiot's guide to Middle East conflict.
General Collection - 2nd Floor: DS62.8 .B36 1999

The United Arab Emirates, A.D. 600 to the present : a socio-discursive transformation in the Arabian Gulf.
General Collection - 2nd Floor: DS247.T85 K39 2000

Orientalism.
General Collection - 2nd Floor: DS12 .S24 1979

Faces of the Emirates : an Arabian album : a collection of mid-20th century photographs.
General Collection - 2nd Floor: DS247.T86 C62 2001

Greek art and archaeology.
General Collection - 2nd Floor: DF130 .P44 1998

The clash of civilizations and the remaking of world order.
General Collection - 2nd Floor:D860 .H86 1996

From Trucial States to United Arab Emirates : a society in transition.         
General Collection - 2nd Floor: DS247.T88  H4 1996

The Arabic language and national identity : a study in ideology.
General Collection - 2nd Floor: DS63.6 .S94 2003

e-Books via ebrary:
ebrary, an online book collection found at :
http://ezproxy.aus.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/aus
has over 2,500 electronic books on historical topics.  Click on the “Browse”  button on the left-hand “Search” tab, and look under “History (General) and “History of Europe”, as well as “History: America”.

Finding Books and Other Materials

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in History, try the following call numbers:

D World History and History or Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.
E-F History of the Americas

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of history the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To browse all journal titles with history information go to Journal Finder:

http://lt4tz7xl8k.search.serialssolutions.com/

under “Browse electronic and print journals by subject”, choose:
“History & Archaeology” and click “Search”

To search for articles on particular topics in history, go to Meta-Search and type in your search terms.

Databases

Many of the Library’s general databases contain articles and other resources related to history.  A complete list can be found under “Full-Text Databases Covering Many Subjects”at:
http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm

Top Database Choices

Academic Research Library – Search the full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) – This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.

JSTOR – Provides electronic access to the back-files of almost 200 core scholarly journals from 19 academic disciplines including the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences.

Other Databases

Social Sciences Citation Index – The Social Sciences Citation Index from Web of Science is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

Getting help with your research

The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help with your research. For specific search strategy assistance in History, please contact:

Christine Furno
Liaison Librarian for History
Tel: 06 515 2254
cfurno@aus.edu

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu