AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Language & Literature

Language & Literature Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Language & Literature.  To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

General Literature

Oxford English Dictionary
Reference Collection - 1st Floor –  REF PE1625 .O87 1989  (20 vol. set)

Literary Movements for Students
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN597 .L58 2002  (2 vol. set)

Handbook to Literature
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN41 .H355 1996
Vols. 1-21

Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms      

Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN44.5 .Q56 2006
Vols. 1-21

Literary Criticism Resources

Dictionary of Modern Critical Terms
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN41 .D4794 1987   

Novels for Students: Presenting Analysis, Context and Criticism on Commonly Studied Novels      
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN6012 .N68  1997
Vols. 1-21

Contemporary Literary Criticism      
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF PN771 .C59 1984 -
Vols. 1-108

Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN761 .N56 1991-
Vols. 1-81

Poetry for Students: Presenting Analysis, Context and Criticism on Commonly Studied Poetry             
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN1101 .P756 1998-
Vols. 1-23

Drama for Students: Presenting Analysis, Context and Criticism on Commonly Studied Drama
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN1601. D595  1998-
Vols. 1-23

Critical Survey of Short Fiction
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN3321 .C7 2001
Vols. 1-7

Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN771 .G27 1998 -
Vols. 1-90

Short Stories for Students 
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN3373 .S3844 1998 -
Vols. 1-23

Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN771 .E5 1999
Vols. 1-23

Arabic Literature

Cambridge History of Arabic Literature
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PJ7500 .C18
Vols. 1-23

Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PJ7510 .E53 1998
Vols. 1-2

World Literature and Its Times Middle Eastern Literatures & Their Times
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PJ307 .M67 2004

American Ethnic Writers
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PS153 .M56 2000
Vols. 1-2

Women Writers

In the House of Silence: Autobiographical Essays by Arab Women Writers
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PJ7525.2 .I53 1998

Modern Women Writers
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PN471. M62 1996
Vols. 1-3

British Women Fiction Writers, 1900-1960
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PR888 .W6 B75 1999
Vols. 1-2

American Women Writers, 1900-1960
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF PS374 .W6 A455 2001
Vols. 1-3

Finding Books and Other Materials in the AUS Library

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Language and Literature, try the following call numbers:

PA 1-8595 Classical languages and literature
PL 1-8844 Languages and literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania
PN 1-6720 Literary history and collections (General)
PN 1600-3300 Drama
PQ 1-9999 Romance literatures
PR 1-9680 English literature
PS 1-3565 American literature

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of literature the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with literature information go to:

Language and Literature http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Language

Top Database Choices

JSTOR - Provides electronic access to the back-files of almost 200 core scholarly journals from 19 academic disciplines including the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences.

Modern Language Association Bibliography - The MLA International Bibliography provides access to more than 1.5 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations from 1963 to the present in academic disciplines such as: language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.

Other Databases

Academic Research Library - Search the full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) - This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.

Ebrary - Ebrary provides users with simultaneous, multi-user access to a growing collection of more than 23,000 full-text, digital books, reports, and other authoritative content from leading publishers. The user must first download the Ebrary reader, but this is simple and takes only moments.

Getting additional help with your research

The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help with your research. For specific search strategy assistance in  Language and Literature please contact:

Daphne Flanagan
Library Liaison for Language and Literature
06-515-2255
dflanagan@aus.edu

 

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu