|
Home > Research
Help - Subject Guides >Marketing/Advertising
Marketing/Advertising Subject Guide
Getting Started
When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Marketing/Advertising. To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).
Reference Resources
The International Dictionary of Marketing : Over 2,000 Professional Terms & Techniques
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF HF5412 .Y33 2002
Handbook of Marketing
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF HF5415 .W47 2002
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF HF5837 .E53 2000
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Marketing
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF HF5415 .B4552 1999
The International Encyclopedia of Marketing
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF HF5415 .N58513 1997
MEAG : the Middle East Advertising Guide.
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF HF5813.M628 M5 2005-06
Select Electronic Books
Internet resources and services for international marketing and advertising [e-book] :a global guide / James R. Coyle
International marketing review [e-book] . Vol. 22, No. 5, Ethics and international marketing : research background and challenges / Guest editors Marilyn Carrigan, Svetla Marinova and Isabelle Szmigin
A short course in international marketing [e-book] : approaching and penetrating the global marketplace / Jeffrey Edmund Curry
Select General Collection Books
Advertising: Principles & Practice
General Collection – 2nd Floor – HF5823 .W455 2006
Global Marketing and Advertising: Understanding Cultural Paradoxes
General Collection – 2nd Floor – HF5415.127 .M66 2005
The Future of Advertising: New Media, New Clients, New Consumers in the Post-Television Age
General Collection – 2nd Floor – HF5821 .C32 2003
Advertising and Promotion: An Integrated Marketing Communications Perspective
General Collection – 2nd Floor – HF5823 .B387 2001
Finding Books and Other Materials in the AUS Library
The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Marketing/Advertising, try the following call numbers:
Finding Journal Articles
In the field of literature the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online. To find all databases with literature information go to:
Business: http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Business
You may also use Journal Finder on the library website (http://lt4tz7xl8k.search.serialssolutions.com/). From the drop down menu under “Browse electronic and print journals by subject” select Business & Economics, Commerce - Marketing & Sales, or Commerce - Advertising.
Top Database Choices
Communication and Mass Media Complete - Offers coverage of more than 600 journal titles in areas related to communication and mass media. Included are the contents of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State)
ABI Inform - Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
LexisNexis Academic - Provides links to information sources in news, business, legal, medical, and general reference. Indexes approximately 5,200 newspapers, journals, and reference titles, providing full-text for 95% of titles. General reference provides full-text access to almanac information, quotations, biographical information, country profiles, US state profiles, and US polls and surveys.
Other Databases
Academic Research Library - Search the full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
Business Source Premier (EbscoHost) -
Designed specifically for business schools and libraries, contains 2,804 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, and international business.
Ebrary - Ebrary provides users with simultaneous, multi-user access to a growing collection of more than 23,000 full-text, digital books, reports, and other authoritative content from leading publishers. The user must first download the Ebrary reader, but this is simple and takes only moments.
Getting additional help with your research
Reference librarians at AUS are happy to help you with your research. For specific search strategy assistance in Marketing/Advertising please contact
Kathleen Botter
Library Liaison for the School of Business and Management
06-515-2270
kbotter@aus.edu
|