AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Mass Communication

Mass Communication Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Mass Communication.  To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Reference Resources

International Media Research: A Critical Survey
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF P91.3 .I56 1997      

Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF QA76.575 .E5368 2003      

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF P87.5 .W38 2006
      
Longman Dictionary of Mass Media & Communication
Reference Collection – 1st Floor –  REF P87.5 .L66 1982   

Encyclopedia of Semiotics, Media & Communication
Reference Collection – 1st Floor –  REF P87.5 .D36 2000   

The SAGE Handbook of Media Studies   
Reference Collection – 1st Floor –  REF P90 .S18 2004

Select General Collection Books

Communication Research Measures : A Sourcebook
General Collection – 2nd Floor –  P91.3 .C62 1994      

Communication Research : Strategies and Sources
General Collection – 2nd Floor –   P91.3 .R83 1996      

A Handbook of Media and Communication Research : Qualitative and Quantitative Methodologies

General Collection – 2nd Floor –   P91.3 .H36 2002 

Finding Books and Other Materials in the AUS Library

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Mass Communication, try the following call numbers:

P87 – P96 Mass Media
PN1991 - PN1991. Radio Programs
PN1992 - PN1992.92 Television Programs
PN1993 - PN1999 Motion pictures
PN4699 - PN5650 News media
HE8689 - HE8700.92 Broadcasting

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of literature the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with literature information go to:

Language and Literature http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Language

You may also use Journal Finder on the library website (http://lt4tz7xl8k.search.serialssolutions.com/). From the drop down menu under “Browse electronic and print journals by subject” select Journalism & Communications.

Top Database Choices

Communication and Mass Media Complete - Offers coverage of more than 600 journal titles in areas related to communication and mass media. Included are the contents of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State)

JSTOR - Provides electronic access to the back-files of almost 200 core scholarly journals from 19 academic disciplines including the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences.

Other Databases

Academic Research Library - Search the full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) - This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.

Ebrary - Ebrary provides users with simultaneous, multi-user access to a growing collection of more than 23,000 full-text, digital books, reports, and other authoritative content from leading publishers. The user must first download the Ebrary reader, but this is simple and takes only moments.

Getting additional help with your research

The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help with your research. For specific search strategy assistance in  Language and Literature please contact:

Christine Furno
Library Liaison for Mass Communication
06-515-2254
cfurno@aus.edu

 

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu