AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Mathematics and Statistics

Mathematics and Statistics Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Mathematics and Statistics.  To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Reference Resources

CRC concise encyclopedia of mathematics    
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF QA5 .W45 1999

Encyclopedia of statistical sciences
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – QA276.14 .E5 (9 vols.)  

Encyclopedic dictionary of mathematics
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – QA5 .I8313 1993 (2 vols.)

Hutchinson dictionary of mathematics
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – QA5 .H88 1997    
 
Select General Collection Books

Handbook of nonlinear partial differential equations
General Collection - 2nd Floor – QA372 .P726 2004  

Handbook of mathematical formulas and integrals
General Collection - 2nd Floor – QA47 .J38 1995

Select Electronic Books

The Cambridge dictionary of statistics [e-book] 

Finding Books and Other Materials in the AUS Library

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Mathematics and Statistics, try the following call numbers:

HA Statistics
QA Mathematics
QA273-280 Probabilities. Mathematical statistics

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of engineering the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with Mathematics and Statistics information go to:

http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Sciences


http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Statistics

You may also use Journal Finder on the library website (http://lt4tz7xl8k.search.serialssolutions.com/). From the drop down menu under “Browse electronic and print journals by subject” select Physical Sciences and Mathematics - Mathematics.

Top Database Choices

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) – This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.

ACM Digital Library – The ACM Digital Library holds a vast collection of citations and full text articles from ACM journals and magazines. The subscription also includes the Digital Library Master Special Interest Group (SIG) Package which comprises of all ACM SIG newsletters in print and online. All conference proceedings are also available in full text.

Science Direct – The world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database supplemented by relevant bibliographic databases to expand literature searches further and a growing program of online reference works. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics – Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication.

UN Statistics Database – Focusing on the collection, processing and dissemination of statistical information, this UN sponsored site provides access to several statistical databases.

US Census Bureau, World Statistics – Listing of statistical websites around the world.

World Bank - WDI Online – WDI Online provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 207 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2002, where data are available.

Other Databases

Dubai Municipality – The Statistics Center undertakes statistical activities, carrying out the general census of population, and the count of housing and establishments. The Statistics Center conducts economic and social statistical surveys and publishes statistical books and bulletins, for the Emirate of Dubai as a whole.

Gulf Cooperation Council Statistics – Contains GCC Statistical Bulletin.

Proquest Science Journals – Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.

Science Citation Index Expanded – The Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines—that's 2,100 more journals than the print and CD-ROM versions of the SCI. The Science Citation Index Expanded includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.

UAE 2005 Census – Your source for UAE population, housing, economic, and geographic data.

UAE Ministry of Planning – See statistical information under “Issues” and “Links.”

Websites

Algebasics – Online tutorials for topics in algebra including basics, rational and linear equations, polynomials, quadratics, etc.

American Mathematical Society – American Mathematical Society

BUBL Link: Mathematics – This site lists the most important URLs, including those for the major mathematical societies and those that are rated as the best for the field.)

Calculus on the Web – An internet utility for learning and practicing calculus. Answers to questions are provided right away.

European Libraries and Electronic Resources in Mathematical Science (EULER Project) – Allows simultaneous searching of mathematics related databases. EULER currently includes over 2.4 million entries, primarily from the catalogs of three large European libraries.

MathSearch – Use this site to search over 200,000 English language Web documents on math and statistics servers.

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) – Use this site for information from the major society for applied mathematics in the U.S.

StatSci.org – Portal for statistical science.

United Arab Emirates and the IMF (International Monetary Fund) – A good source for statistical information on the UAE.

Getting additional help with your research

The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help you with your research.  For specific search strategy assistance in Mathematics and Statistics please contact:

Thomas Hodge
Liaison Librarian for Mathematics and Statistics
06-515-2260
thodge@aus.edu

 

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu