AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Philosophy

Philosophy Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Philosophy. To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Selected Reference Collection materials:

Encyclopedia of Philosophy Reference Collection - 1st Floor B51 .E53 2006

Dictionary of World Philosophy Reference Collection - 1st Floor B41 .I26 2001

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy Reference Collection - 1st Floor B51 .O94 1995

The Philosophers : Introducing Great Western Thinkers Reference Collection - 1st Floor B72 .P44 1999

Key Ideas in Human Thought Reference Collection - 1st Floor B41 .K48 1993


Selected General Collection materials:

Doing Greek Philosophy General Collection - 2nd Floor B177 .W37 2006

The Cambridge Companion to Arabic Philosophy General Collection - 2nd Floor B741 .C36 2005

Introducing Philosophy General Collection - 2nd Floor B53 .R63 2004

Key concepts in Eastern Philosophy General Collection - 2nd Floor B121 .L43 1999

Finding Books and Other Materials

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Philosophy, try the following call numbers:

B69-99
General works
B108-708
Ancient
B720-765 Medieval
B770-785 Renaissance
B790-5802 Modern
B808-849 Special topics and schools of philosophy
B850-5739 By region or country
B5800-5802 By religion

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of Philosophy the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with philosophy information go to:

http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm

Top Database Choices

JSTOR – Provides electronic access to the back-files of almost 200 core scholarly journals from 19 academic disciplines including the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences.

Academic Research Library – A full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Other Databases

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) – This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Premier offers full text information dating as far back as 1985

Social Sciences Citation Index – The Social Sciences Citation Index from Web of Science is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

Websites

Philosophy Pages
This site on philosophy and philosophers has a concise Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names , a survey History of Western Philosophy , a Timeline of Western Philosophers (from 600 B.C.E. to the present), a discussion of logic, a guide to the study of philosophy, and a collection of briefly annotated links to additional resources.
URL: http://www.philosophypages.com/

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Hundreds of articles featuring "detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy." Maintained by two philosophy professors and a team of volunteer specialists. Not searchable.
URL: http://www.iep.utm.edu/

Philosophy Research Base
Annotated directory of thousands of philosophy Web sites, covering ancient, medieval, modern, 19th century, 20th century, major issues, feminism, ecofeminism, ecology, queer theory, and American. Also includes links to journals, organizations, and resources for students. Searchable, and browsable by historical category, philosopher, and subject.
URL: http://www.erraticimpact.com/

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Philosophy professors at Stanford University are developing this encyclopedia, featuring hundreds of articles. The section called "What's New" features the latest entries. Searchable and browsable.
URL: http://plato.stanford.edu/contents.html

Contemporary Philosophy, Critical Theory and Postmodern Thought
Collection of links to general information about postmodernism and critical theory, and to specific theorists in the field of study, such as Jean Baudrillard, Jacques Derrida, Michel Foucault, Martin Heidegger, and Edward Said. From an education professor at the University of Colorado at Denver.
URL: http://carbon.cudenver.edu/~mryder/itc_data/postmodern.html

http://www.jimpryor.net/teaching/guidelines/writing.html - Recommended by Philosophy Professor, Jeremy Bendik-Keymer, this website offers guidelines on how to successfully write a Philosophy paper.  Reviews the stages of writing, grading criteria, and much more.

Getting help with your research

The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help you with your research. For specific search strategy assistance in Philosophy please contact:

Christine Furno
Liaison Librarian for Philosophy
06-515-2254
cfurno@aus.edu

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu