AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Political Science

Political Science Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Political Science. To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Selected Reference Collection materials:

The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science : A User's Guide to its Terms Reference Collection - 1st Floor JA61 .B43 1999

Political Theories for Students Reference Collection - 1st Floor JA81 .P617 2002

The Encyclopedia of Political Thought Reference Collection - 1st Floor JA61 .E52 2001

Handbook of the Nations : A Brief Guide to the Economy, Government, Land, Demographics, Communications, and National Defense Establishment of each of 266 entities of the World Reference Collection - 1st Floor G122 .W67 1999

World Directory of Diplomatic Representation Reference Collection - 1st Floor JX1625 .W67 1992

Finding Books and Other Materials

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Political Science, try the following call numbers:

HX
Socialism, Communism, Anarchism and Utopias
J
General legislative and executive papers
JA Political science (General)
JC Political theory
JF Political institutions and public administration
JJ Political institutions and public administration (North America)
JK Political institutions and public administration (United States)
JL Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.)
JN Political institutions and public administration (Europe)
JQ Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
JS Local government. Municipal government
JV Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration
JZ International relations
Z 7161-7166 Political and Social Science Bibliography

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of Political Science, the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with political science information go to:

http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Social

Top Database Choices

JSTOR – Provides electronic access to the back-files of almost 200 core scholarly journals from 19 academic disciplines including the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences.

Academic Research Library – A full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Other Databases

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) – This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Premier offers full text information dating as far back as 1985

Social Sciences Citation Index – The Social Sciences Citation Index from Web of Science is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

Science Direct – The world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database supplemented by relevant bibliographic databases to expand literature searches further and a growing program of online reference works. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science.

Websites

Political Science Resources: United States Politics
Collection of links to materials about U.S. government and politics. Topics include campaign finance, cartoons, elections, lobbying groups, political parties, news sources, statistics, think tanks, and more. From the University of Michigan Library Documents Center.
URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/psusp.html


Aljazeera.Net
This site is a companion to the Arabic satellite news channel Aljazeera. The site aims to provide "heated debates along with objective news reporting and interactive feedback." Features Arab and world news on topics including politics, the economy, culture, and science and technology. Also includes animated political cartoons. Note: Search may not work.
URL: http://english.aljazeera.net/


YaleGlobal Online
This site "is the flagship publication of the Yale Center for the Study of Globalization. The magazine explores the implications of the growing interconnectedness of the world." Articles are browsable by region or by subject area such as the environment, gender, politics, science and technology, security and terrorism, and trade. Also provides an introduction to the topic of globalization and links to related sites. Searchable.
URL: http://yaleglobal.yale.edu


Elections and Electoral Systems Around the World
Good place to start if you're looking for election information around the world. Has links to information on more than countries, as well as to the best general sites on the topic. Maintained as part of the Political Science Resources page at the University of Keele in the United Kingdom.
URL: http://www.psr.keele.ac.uk/election.htm


Global Connections: The Middle East
This site provides background information for events in the Middle East. There is a timeline of key events from 1900; a thematic section viewing "events through the lens of politics, science, economics, and more"; and a section of "big picture" questions with accompanying essays and lesson plans. From the PBS station WGBH in Boston.
URL: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/globalconnections/

Getting help with your research

The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help you with your research. For specific search strategy assistance in Political Science please contact

Christin Furno
Liaison Librarian for Political Science
06-515-2254
cfurno@aus.edu

 


 

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu