AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Psychology

Psychology Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Psychology. To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Selected Reference Collection materials:

The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
Reference Collection - 1st Floor: REF BF31 .G35 2001

Encyclopedia of Mental Health Reference Collection - 1st Floor: REF RA790.5 .E53 1998

Handbook of Health Psychology Reference Collection - 1st Floor: REF R726.7 .H3645 2001

The Concise Dictionary of Psychology Reference Collection - 1st Floor: REF BF31 .S62 1998

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-IV-TR Reference Collection - 1st Floor RC455.2.C4 D536 2000


Selected General Collection materials:

The Norton Psychology Reader General Collection - 2nd Floor: BF121 .N63 2006

Psycholinguistics : Critical Concepts in Psychology General Collection – 2nd Floor : P37 .P7594 2002

Key Concepts in Psychology General Collection – 2nd Floor : BF31 .W56 2006

The Psychology of the Language Learner : Individual Differences in Second Language Acquisition General Collection – 2nd Floor : P118.2 .D66 2005

Case Studies in Abnormal Psychology General Collection - 2nd Floor RC454.4 .C57

Finding Books and Other Materials

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Psychology, try the following call numbers:

BF
Psychology

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of Psychology, the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with psychology information go to:

http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Social

Top Database Choices

Science Direct – The world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database supplemented by relevant bibliographic databases to expand literature searches further and a growing program of online reference works. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science.

Academic Research Library – A full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) – This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Premier offers full text information dating as far back as 1985

JSTOR – Provides electronic access to the back-files of almost 200 core scholarly journals from 19 academic disciplines including the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences.

Other Databases

Proquest Health Module – Search periodicals on health subjects such as medical conditions, substance abuse, insurance, health policy, and more in this ProQuest Research Library module.

Social Sciences Citation Index – The Social Sciences Citation Index from Web of Science is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

LexisNexis Academic – Provides links to information sources in news, business, legal, medical, and general reference. Indexes approximately 5,200 newspapers, journals, and reference titles, providing full-text for 95% of titles. General reference provides full-text access to almanac information, quotations, biographical information, country profiles, US state profiles, and US polls and surveys.

Websites

Current Topics in Psychology
This directory is a well-organized, quick reference collection of articles, Web sites, and research tools. The page is divided between a section listing more comprehensive resources (Web of Addiction, PsychCrawler, Exploratorium's Memory, etc.) and a section of links to more specific topics (articles on ergonomics, Internet addiction, etc.). Maintained by a clinical psychologist.
URL: http://www.fenichel.com/Current.shtml

Classics in the History of Psychology
A full-text collection of "historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines." Search by keyword or browse by author or topic. There are 20 books and over 100 articles and chapters available, as well as links to over 170 relevant works. Also available is a Primary Source Reading Suggestions for History of Psychology Courses along with the context and rationale for inclusion. Developed by a professor in the Department of Psychology at York University (Toronto).
URL: http://psychclassics.yorku.ca/

Mental Health and Psychology Resources Online
Annotated and rated directory of nearly two thousand psychology and mental health resources on the Internet. Part of the Psych Central pages maintained by Dr. John Grohol, a psychologist and computer consultant.
URL: http://psychcentral.com/resources/

Psych Web
This searchable site contains links for the APA (American Psychological Association) style guidelines and tutorials, full-text print resources including pamphlets, career information, and listings of psychology departments with an Internet presence. There is also a searchable database of links to online journals, many of which provide free, full-text access. Additionally, there is a briefly annotated directory of related resources as well as articles on a wide variety of topics including hypnosis, sports psychology, states of consciousness, and more. By a Georgia Southern University professor of psychology.
URL: http://www.psychwww.com/

APA Help Center
The American Psychological Association (APA) offers information on "How To Find Help with Life's Problems," including when to seek help and where to find it, workplace psychology, stress, depression, family problems, and the connection between mind and body. Searchable.
URL: http://www.APAHelpCenter.org

Getting help with your research

The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help you with your research. For specific search strategy assistance in Psychology please contact:

Christine Furno,
Liaison Librarian for Psychology,
06-515-2254
cfurno@aus.edu

 


 

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu