AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > Linguistics (TESOL & Translation)

TESOL & Translation Subject Guide

Getting Started

When you begin research in a new topic area it is useful to identify phrases, define words and find brief facts. The resources in this section list some reference sources for the field of Linguistics.  To find additional materials search the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search).

Reference Resources

Dictionary of Translation Studies      
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF P306.2. S65 1997 

Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies      
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF P306. E57 1998

Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF LC3707. E53 1998

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (3 vols.)
Reference Collection - 1st Floor – REF P29. I58 2003

Routledge encyclopedia of language teaching and learning
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF P51 .R66 2000

The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics (10 vols.)
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF P29 .E48 1994

A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics
Reference Collection – 1st Floor – REF P29 .C65 1997

Select Electronic Books

Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning/ edited by Eli Hinkel

Bilingualism and Language Pedagogy / edited by Janina Brutt-Griffler and Manka Varghese

Understanding language teaching: from method to post-method / B. Kumaravadivelu

Context and culture in language teaching and learning / edited by Michael Byram and Peter Grundy

The turns of translation studies: new paradigms or shifting viewpoints? / Mary Snell-Hornby

Translation research and interpreting research: traditions, gaps and synergies / edited by Christina Schffner

Finding Books and Other Materials in the AUS Library

The AUS Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. To find books search in the AUS library catalog (http://alberta.aus.edu/search). To browse the shelves for books in Language and Literature, try the following call numbers:

P Linguistics
P118 Language acquisition
PE 1128-1130 English as a second language
LB Educational theory and practice
LC 1099 - 3747 Multicultural education, Bilingual education

Finding Journal Articles

In the field of literature the AUS library subscribes to hundreds of journals, most of which are found online.  To find all databases with literature information go to:

Language and Literature http://library.aus.edu/Databases/Databases-subject.htm#Language

Top Database Choices

JSTOR - Provides electronic access to the back-files of almost 200 core scholarly journals from 19 academic disciplines including the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences.

Modern Language Association Bibliography - The MLA International Bibliography provides access to more than 1.5 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations from 1963 to the present in academic disciplines such as: language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.

Multilingual Matters – Provides access to a collection of peer reviewed academic journals related to bilingualism, second/foreign language learning, sociolinguistics and translation.

Other Databases

Academic Research Library - Search the full collection of journals and magazines for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) - This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.

Ebrary - Ebrary provides users with simultaneous, multi-user access to a growing collection of more than 23,000 full-text, digital books, reports, and other authoritative content from leading publishers. The user must first download the Ebrary reader, but this is simple and takes only moments.

Websites

Carnegie Middle East Center - This English/Arabic website offers fully translated versions of all pages and articles. Focusing on the challenges facing political and economic development and reform in the Arab region, this website is a good resource for any translation student looking to compare English and Arabic versions of the same text.

Getting additional help with your research

The reference librarians at AUS are happy to help with your research. For specific search strategy assistance in Language and Literature please contact:

Kathy Ray
Library Liaison for Translation
06-515-2266
kray@aus.edu

 

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu