AUS Library logo
  contact us Contact Us  | hours Hours  | myLibraryRECORD MyLibraryRecord
Red Line Red Line
Library banner AUS Library logo
Red Line Red Line
Home > Research Help - Subject Guides > United Arab Emirates

United Arab Emirates Subject Guide


UAE Information Search Engine

Try our customized Google search for information on the UAE.

This search engine does not search the entire web, but a collection of sites known to have UAE information. If you know of any websites that should be included in this search engine please email us to let us know.

UAE Information

Zayed University maintains a comprehensive collection of UAE information including statistics, government, law and legislation as well as career and information on specific subjects such as Art and Design, Business, Communication etc. Please visit Zayed University's UAE Information site.


UAE and Middle East Related Reports

The Challenge of Economic Reform in the Arab World: Toward More Productive Economies
In The Challenge of Economic Reform in the Arab World, Sufyan Alissa examines the major factors responsible for hindering meaningful economic reform in the Arab world.

The Arab World Competitiveness Report 2007
This report, released by the World Economic Forum, ranks 13 Arab economies – Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Jordan, Kuwait, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Syria, Tunisia and United Arab Emirates - in three country groups according to the stage of development to enable benchmarking against peers in other parts of the world.

Second Arab Business Intelligence Report – This report is the most comprehensive analysis of business opinion in the region and is rapidly becoming the most authoritative indicator of trend lines and future business direction.

Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Report 2007 – A cross-country analysis of the drivers of competitiveness in travel and tourism covering 124 countries around the world. This report includes a profile for the United Arab Emirates.


UAE National and Middle East Regional Sites

UAE 2005 Census – Your source for UAE population, housing, economic, and geographic data.

Carnegie Middle East Center – Includes regional and country information including political systems and reform (monthly Arab Reform Bulletin), fulltext online publications and an Arabic web portal with Arabic publications.

Department of Tourism and Commerce Marketing, Government of Dubai – DTCM concentrates on the international promotion of Dubai’s commerce and tourism interests, as well as acting as the principal authority for the planning, supervision and development of the tourism sector in the emirate.

United Arab Emirates and the IMF (International Monetary Fund) – A good source for statistical information on the UAE.

Middle East Business Weekly (MEED) – An online version of the Gulf's business weekly magazine

UAE Country Study – An excellent resource of detailed information regarding political, social and economic factors in the UAE.

UAE (Library of Congress) – A detailed set of legal and general resource links.

UAE Official Government Site – A wide array of information provided by the government and individual ministries.

Gulf News – The official web site of the Gulf's most widely read newspaper.

UAE Forever – A detailed list of links to a variety of UAE subjects.

The Emirates news bulletin – a searchable archive of UAE newspaper articles.  

His Highness Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan – the official site of the late president of the UAE.

His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum – the official site of UAE Vice President and Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai

Sharjah Commercial Directory

Dubai Business Directory

Abu Dhabi Business Directory

Portals to the World – United Arab Emirates resources selected by Library of Congress subject experts

AME Info – A Middle East business resource

Dubai Municipality Portal

Emirates Center for Strategic Studies and Research

indexUAE – Website index and search engine for Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Ras Al Khaimah, Fujairah & Umm al-Quwain

The Future of Persian Gulf Security: Alternatives for the 21st Century – This brief summarizes the primary findings of the conference as interpreted by Program Associate Sherif Hamdy and Writer/Editor Jennifer Maceyko of the Stanley Foundation.

CRS Report for Congress: The United Arab Emirates (UAE): Issues for US Policy

 

Subject Guides
> Accounting
> Arabic Studies
> Architecture
> Art History
> Biology
> Business & Management
> Chemistry
> Design
> Economics
> Education
> Engineering - Chemical
> Engineering - Civil
> Engineering - Computer
> Engineering - Electrical
> Engineering - Mechanical
> Environmental Sciences
> Film Studies
> History
> Government Documents
> Journalism
> Language & Literature
> Marketing/Advertising
> Mass Communication
> Mathematics & Statistics
> Philosophy
> Physics
> Political Science
> Psychology
> TESOL & Translation
> United Arab Emirates
   
Research Help
> Reference Desk
>
>
>
>
>
>
   
Useful Links
> mylibraryRECORD
> TILT Tutorial
> FAQ's
   
Featured Resources
> Academic Research Library
> Academic Search Premier
> LexisNexis Academic
> Encyclopaedia Britannica
Red Line Red Line
 
© 2008 University Library | American University of Sharjah, www.aus.edu